Happiness is a state of mind: ডোরা জুবায়ের

মেহবুবা জুবায়ের এর ছবি
লিখেছেন মেহবুবা জুবায়ের [অতিথি] (তারিখ: শুক্র, ২৫/০৯/২০০৯ - ২:৩৯পূর্বাহ্ন)
ক্যাটেগরি:

ডোরা তার বাবাকে নিয়ে একটা লেখা লিখেছে। স্বচ্ছন্দে বাংলা বলতে পারলেও বাংলা লেখাটা সেভাবে শিখে ওঠা হয়নি বলে ওকে লিখতে হয়েছে ইংরেজিতে।

বাংলা ব্লগ সচলায়তনে ইংরেজি লেখা প্রকাশ করছি বলে ক্ষমা চেয়ে নিচ্ছি সবার কাছে।


Happiness is a state of mind
Dora Zubair
9-23-09


When I was asked to write something about the death of my father, I didn't know where to begin. It has been a year since he died and to say things have gotten easier would be untrue. In fact, I'm finding that the longer it gets, the more painful the reality of the situation becomes.

There are many things that I've been able to do since he passed, that I wasn't sure I would be able to. I remember sitting in classes when he was in the ICU and selfishly thinking about the person I would become when he died. Would I be angry? Reserved? Depressed? I feared that I wouldn't know who I was anymore. But none of that happened. In fact, I realized with each passing day that I was handling everything fairly well. That may be the scariest part of the entire process – the wait for some type of insanity, a breakdown of some sort that never came.

I think the only thing that kept me going, and still keeps me going is my family – my mom and brother. I feel their heartaches, their pain and loss more than I feel my own. I think of my mother working as hard as she does to keep our lives together. I think of how hard she has worked her whole life and that surely, God could never want this type of pain for such an amazing human being. I think of my little brother, who I have never seen cry, who holds it all together so well that I am constantly reminded of how much like my father he truly is. I think of how unfair it is that I was able to spend 19 years with my father, while my brother was only given 11 years with him. But more than anything, I feel guilty for leaving them to go to college so soon after they lost my father. This guilt is so enormous that it rips my insides apart, so overwhelming that I can barely face the longing in their eyes when they see me. It is the worst and most selfish thing that I have to do when I leave them.

This past year has been a roller coaster of emotions, struggles and surprisingly, growth. I feel so much older than my 20 years, so much more experienced than any of my friends, more dutiful than anyone my age. but despite this, I had been selfish and immature about one thing. I had not made the effort to visit my father's grave since the funeral one year ago. It is a situation that I could not prepare myself for, one that past experiences could not teach me to deal with. Before my father died, I had never even been to a funeral, had never seen a dead body, had never even been to a cemetery. The idea that all these foreign things were now connected with my own father was surreal. I could not imagine that his body was six feet under ground, buried deep under the earth, rotting and decaying just like every other dead being that was once alive. To me, my father was greater than that, a superhero, a god of some sort. I couldn't wrap my mind around the idea that he, too, would die and disintegrate into oblivion. The logic of this was jarring and I couldn't find a reason (religious implications aside) to see it with my own eyes.

I knew my resistance to go to my father's grave was hurting my mom, as she kept reminding me that I had an obligation to go. But with every other obligation I had, my life was being pulled in 20 different directions at once. I very strongly insisted to her that this decision was my own to make. I also couldn't stop thinking about the way my father spoke about his own father when he died. I recall sitting in the passenger seat of his car, looking at my dad, noticing a sad smile on his face as he said, "I haven't cried at all since my father died. It hasn't hit me yet. I think if I ever visit his grave, it will really hit me and I can actually cry." Every time I thought about visiting his grave, I thought about what he said, realizing that I wasn't ready for his death to hit me.

On Eid this year, just a few days ago, I finally visited my father's grave, with the insistence of my aunt and uncle. It wasn't entirely my decision to go and although I didn't necessarily disagree to go, internally, I was experiencing the second panic attack of my life. The first one was in the hospital bathroom when I first realized that my father would die. I remember walking into the ICU and looking in shock at my father turned onto his stomach. I asked the nurse what happened, and she explained to me that his lungs were collapsing and they had to turn him to keep the oxygen from escaping. I don't remember how I got there, but I found myself in a ball in the corner of one of the bathroom stalls, crying hysterically. The entire experience is a blur of tears, nausea, and the eventual realization that this was the end: he was going to die.

My second panic attack wasn't nearly as horrific as the first. It wasn't nearly as painful because I knew deep down that the worst had already passed and I was sure that nothing could hurt as bad as what I had already felt. I sat in the car when we pulled up to the cemetery and I tried to keep from hyperventilating, tried to remain calm, tried to not let ridiculous things phase me. The walk up to his grave was harder than I anticipated and I found myself constantly pausing to regain my composure. When I finally saw his grave, it felt as though I was punched in the stomach, a complete slap in the face and I could not stop myself from crying. It was hard to imagine that under that tombstone, lay my dead father. But just then, something miraculous happened.

I began noticing the beautiful yellow flowers placed upon the tombstone. I read the inscription, the letters of my name in gold, forever engraved next to his. I looked at the graves next to his and wondered who they were, if they had many people visit them and notice my father's grave. I suddenly realized that I had stopped crying. I had forgotten that I was supposed to be sad. And just like that, I was still, calm, and tranquil. I focused on my father's resting place and the serenity of the atmosphere. The protective and secluding trees, the soft grass, the faint sounds of silent prayer around me, and I felt a haunting breeze that reminded me of the many ways in which my father could have been trying to reach me.

My mom and brother often talk about seeing my father in their dreams. I would listen in jealousy as they spoke of the way my father talked to them, reassured them, reached them sometimes when they were asleep. I had never once seen my father in my dreams and I often wondered why didn't try to reach out to me somehow, the way he did with the rest of my family. But the night I visited his grave, for the first time, I saw my father as soon as I closed my eyes to sleep. It was instant, like a flash from a camera. There he was, dressed in a maroon Punjabi, adorned with gold embellishment and he even wore a gold netted scarf. Knowing my father and how unlikely he was to be wearing anything other than jeans and a t-shirt, I was surprised to see him look so festive. He had a relaxed and meaningful smile on his face, still young and healthy looking. He looked so different than he had at the hospital and the last few years of his life. He was thinner, eyes open and friendly, with his hair full and jet black. He looked just as he had when my brother was first born, 11 years ago. Then I saw my mother, looking just as young with her long black hair tied in a braid. She had on a luxurious blue sari, looking beautiful in every sense of the word. On her hip, she carried my baby brother, a pacifier in his mouth, his eyes wide and playful, full of innocence and curiosity. There was my family, each and every one of them happy and healthy.

When I awoke the next morning, I felt more free-spirited and happy than I had felt in the longest time I could remember. The image of my father reassured me that wherever he was, he was happy. I had often wondered and worried about whether or not he was lonely or sad without me, my mom, and my brother. But now, I imagine my father in the company of the friends he always told me about that passed away. I remember the way he would mournfully speak of them and the close friendships they shared. I hope that they are all together now, laughing and joking the way my father used to when he was younger and healthier. I hope he is with my grandfather and I hope he is able to finally make up for all the lost time when they could not see each other. I hope he got the chance to cry for his father. But most of all, I hope that he doesn't miss us too much, I hope he never feels an inch of the pain and loneliness that we feel. I never want him to feel any type of pain ever again.

George Harrison once said, "Try to realize it's all within yourself, no one else can make you change, and to see you're only very small and life flows on within you and without you.” This is the only way I can think to live my life. We must all take life one day at a time, the way my father always did. There is no use in worrying about the future, no use in being dramatic, no use in giving up. Our problems, however overwhelming at times, are minuscule in the bigger scheme of things. We are all merely pinpoints, lost and forgotten amongst the grandiosity of life, and this idea is the best way to stay humble and happy. After all, happiness is merely a state of mind and in order to maintain it, you have to believe that it can happen.


মন্তব্য

বর্ষা এর ছবি

'We are all merely pinpoints, lost and forgotten amongst the grandiosity of life, and this idea is the best way to stay humble and happy. '
********************************************************
এক মৎস্যকন্যার কথিকা

********************************************************
আমার লেখায় বানান এবং বিরাম চিহ্নের সন্নিবেশনের ভুল থাকলে দয়া করে ধরিয়ে দিন।

রানা মেহের এর ছবি

What a touchy story u just told us Dora!
Bless you
-----------------------------------
আমার মাঝে এক মানবীর ধবল বসবাস
আমার সাথেই সেই মানবীর তুমুল সহবাস

-----------------------------------
আমার মাঝে এক মানবীর ধবল বসবাস
আমার সাথেই সেই মানবীর তুমুল সহবাস

_প্রজাপতি এর ছবি

এত সুন্দর করে বাবাকে নিয়ে লেখা জুবায়ের ভাইয়ের মেয়ের পক্ষেই সম্ভব। চোখের পানি আটকে রাখতে পারলাম না।
---------------------------------------------------------
ছিন্ন পাতার সাজাই তরণী, একা একা করি খেলা ...

ছিন্ন পাতার সাজাই তরণী, একা একা করি খেলা ...

মৃত্তিকা এর ছবি

"Try to realize it's all within yourself, no one else can make you change, and to see you're only very small and life flows on within you and without you.”

"After all, happiness is merely a state of mind and in order to maintain it, you have to believe that it can happen."

- Wonderful writing & beautiful thoughts Dora. It touched me so much. I could feel the pain.
Sometime pain teaches us things which we overlook. I wish you carry on these nice little thoughts all through your life, make it a meaningful one, just like your father dreamt! And I also pray that, all those good things that you are assuming your father is having now............becomes true, becomes happening.
May God bless you & your family..........may he gives you the strength to move on.

সুবিনয় মুস্তফী এর ছবি

ডোরা, ঠিক ১ বছর ১১ মাস আগে তোমার লেখা প্রথমবার পড়েছিলাম, তোমার বাবার কল্যাণেই। তিনি এখানে তোমার একটা রচনা পোস্ট করেছিলেন। মুগ্ধ পাঠক আমি তখন সত্যি ভেবে পাইনি যে কি করে একজন স্কুলছাত্রীর কলম থেকে এমন লেখা বেরুতে পারে।

আজকে এই লেখা পড়ে বুঝলাম, যে তা সম্ভব এবং লেখিকা সেটাকেও অতিক্রম করে যেতে পারে। অবর্ণনীয় সুন্দর ও সত্য আজকের এই লেখাটি। ব্যথা আছে, আশা আছে, ভাষার অপূর্ব কারুকাজ আছে, আছে এমন এক ধরণের ম্যাচিউরিটি আর কন্ট্রোল যা তোমার দ্বিগুণ বয়সী লেখকও সহজ়ে আয়ত্বে আনতে পারে না।

তুমি পেরেছো। জুবায়ের ভাই যোগ্য এক কন্যাই রেখে গেলেন। দোয়া করি তুমি আজীবন লিখে যাও। তোমার লেখা ছড়িয়ে পড়ুক চতুর্দিকে আর তোমার নামের মাঝে প্রতিদিন বেঁচে থাকুক তোমার বাবা। তাকে আমরা যেমন মিস করি, তোমাকে নিয়েও একদিন ঠিক তেমনই গর্ববোধ করবো বলে আমার বিশ্বাস।
-------------------------
হাজার বছর ব্লগর ব্লগর

ফজলুল কাদের এর ছবি

Even without knowing anything about Mr. Zubair, I couldn’t help letting my tear drop from my eyes. It’s hard to believe that a girl of your age can be so prudent and express her sensible and reasonable thoughts in such a moving way.

শিক্ষানবিস এর ছবি

The narrative of your visit to your father's grave made me feel for the second time in my life that everyone carries a Neverland with him (First, when I was introduced to Peter Pan). Your last line strangely revealed the reality of that Neverland. I think it is the greatest surreal experience a human being can ever have. Maybe this is what we live for.

আহমেদুর রশীদ এর ছবি

মনে পরে যায়........

"৩২.১ | মুহম্মদ জুবায়ের | সোম, ২০০৮-০৬-২৩ ১০:৪১

উদ্ধৃতি

আপনার মেয়ের লেখার হাত আপনার চেয়েও ভাল।

জানি তো! মনে না করাইলে কী ক্ষতি হইতো? চোখ টিপি

-----------------------------------------------
ছি ছি এত্তা জঞ্জাল!"

---------------------------------------------------------

ঘাস তুমি ঘাসের মতো থাকো মাটি ছুঁয়ে
যে দেখার সে নতজানু হয়ে ছুঁবে তোমার আঙুল
অবরুদ্ধ মাঠ থেকে তুমি লাফিয়ে নেমোনা প্লিজ পাথরের পথে

---------------------------------------------------------

ঘাস তুমি ঘাসের মতো থাকো মাটি ছুঁয়ে
যে দেখার সে নতজানু হয়ে ছুঁবে তোমার আঙুল
অবরুদ্ধ মাঠ থেকে তুমি লাফিয়ে নেমোনা প্লিজ পাথরের পথে
________________________________________
http://ahmedurrashid.

রাকিব সুলতান এর ছবি

"In a way we all are just promises and promises all the way to our graves"- Syed Shamsul Huq

সত্যি কথা বলতে কী এ রকম মূহূর্তে আসলে কী বলা উচিত তা আমি কখনোই খুব ভালো বুঝে উঠতে পারিনা। এ রকম সময়ে নিজেকে সান্ত্বনা দেয়ার জন্য এই বাক্যটি আমাকে সবসময় সাহায্য করে। তাই শেয়ার করলাম।

এস এম মাহবুব মুর্শেদ এর ছবি

লেখাটা পড়া হয়নি। তবু এটা জানাতে ঢুকলাম:

"আমার না থাকাটাই হবে আমার সবচেয়ে বড় থাকা" - মুহম্মদ জুবায়েরের এপিটাফ থেকে। আসলে মানুষ বেঁচে থাকে তাদের সন্তানের ভেতর। এই লেখাটাই তার প্রমান।

====
চিত্ত থাকুক সমুন্নত, উচ্চ থাকুক শির

আরিফ জেবতিক এর ছবি

---------------------

নাজিম উদদীন এর ছবি

অসাধারণ ! বাবাকে নিয়ে খুবই সুন্দর এবং হৃদয়স্পর্শী স্মৃতিচারণ। যোগ্য বাবার যোগ্য কন্যা।

সৈয়দ নজরুল ইসলাম দেলগীর এর ছবি

...............................
______________________________________
পথই আমার পথের আড়াল

______________________________________
পথই আমার পথের আড়াল

মির্জা এর ছবি

Dora

My father passed away 15 years ago, my sister still couldn’t manage to get the courage to go to the graveyard, don’t worry, mothers understand it all, she will understand.
It’s been awhile since I lost both my parents and can feel your envy on how feel as you never have seen you father in your dreams, as I have the same 'blank' dreams!
Your pain is yours, no one can take it away or may even be ease it off, just wanted to share the similar experience, not that it would ease away anything, but to say you'r not alone.

Take care

তানবীরা এর ছবি

Very honest statement Dora. Heart touching.
Keep well.

**************************************************
পদে পদে ভুলভ্রান্তি অথচ জীবন তারচেয়ে বড় ঢের ঢের বড়

*******************************************
পদে পদে ভুলভ্রান্তি অথচ জীবন তারচেয়ে বড় ঢের ঢের বড়

সৌরভ এর ছবি

এই লেখায় কমেন্ট করার কোন ভাষা জানা নেই। জুবায়ের ভাই কেনো আপনার লেখা নিয়ে গর্ব করতেন এখন বুঝতে পারছি।


আবার লিখবো হয়তো কোন দিন

nuSayer এর ছবি

apu... gone through it last night... was kinda speechless...what to say... just cried...today when i just gone through the comments... only one thing i can say....please, carry on writing....don't stop....please, carry on....BABA will be very happy... Trust Me... may Allah bless you...

ধ্রুব হাসান এর ছবি

I think the only thing that kept me going, and still keeps me going is my family

Keep it up, I think this gonna be last source of happiness of this world!

This past year has been a roller coaster of emotions, struggles and surprisingly, growth. I feel so much older than my 20 years, so much more experienced than any of my friends, more dutiful than anyone my age. but despite this, I had been selfish and immature about one thing....

সময় কেবল গড়ায়... কিন্তু কি অদ্ভূৎভাবে অভিজ্ঞতা একই চিহ্ন একেঁ চলে জীবনের গায়ে! তোমার যে সেলফিসনেস্‌ তা তো একটা সময় এসে কাটিয়ে উঠতে পারলে; কিন্তু আমি যা করেছি নিজেকে ঠিক রাখতে তা ঠিক করেছিলাম কিনা এখনো বুঝতে পারিনা। বাবাকে যে নেই তা ঠিক প্র্যাক্টিক্যালি আমার জন্য সত্য নয় আজো। যিনি আমাকে প্রতি ঈদে দেখার জন্য উতলা হতেন, ছেলেমানুষের মতো জেদ করতেন তাকেই কিনা না দেখে আমি কবরের ঐ ৬ফুট জায়গায় শুয়ে দিতে বলতে পেরেছিলাম! কেন করেছিলাম? প্রথম কারণ হলো, আমি আমার মৃত বাবার মুখ দেখতে তৈরী ছিলামনা, উনি এভাবে কথাবার্তা ছাড়া চলে যাবেন ভাবিনি। ফিসিক্যালি এতো ভালো ফিটন্যাস থাকা সত্ত্বেও কেউ দুম করে চলে যেতে পারেন কল্পনাও করতে পারিনি! Baba, I'm so sorry.............

যাইহোক George Harrison-রএই কথায় মেনে না নিয়ে কোন উপায় নেই,"Try to realize it's all within yourself, no one else can make you change, and to see you're only very small and life flows on within you and without you.”

Take care of u and ur family.

debottom এর ছবি

...

আহির ভৈরব এর ছবি

But most of all, I hope that he doesn't miss us too much, I hope he never feels an inch of the pain and loneliness that we feel. I never want him to feel any type of pain ever again.

An amazingly touching piece of writing, Dora. May you have the strength and the courage to shoulder the burden of your pain. Do continue to write - not just because you have a tremendous gift for it which made your father proud, but also because you owe it to yourself to tell your story.

-----------------------------------------------------
আর কিছু না চাই
যেন আকাশখানা পাই
আর পালিয়ে যাবার মাঠ।

-----------------------------------------------------
আর কিছু না চাই
যেন আকাশখানা পাই
আর পালিয়ে যাবার মাঠ।

স্বাধীন এর ছবি

অসাধারণ লেখা, আপাতত শুধু এটুকুই জানিয়ে গেলাম।

অনিকেত এর ছবি

প্রিয় ডোরা,

এই কয়দিন ধরে আমি চেষ্টা করছিলাম এই পোষ্টটা এড়িয়ে যেতে।
এইটা আর জুবায়ের ভাইয়ের নিজের শেষ পোষ্টটা।

কিন্তু শেষ পর্যন্ত আর পারলাম না।

তোমাকে সান্ত্বনা দেবার কিছু নেই। তুমি যথেষ্ট শক্ত মনের মানুষ। তোমার বয়েসের কথা চিন্তা করলে আসলে অবাক হতে হয় যে, কী করে তুমি এতটা মনের জোর পাও!

তোমাকে সান্ত্বনা দেবার কিছু নেই।
বরং তোমার কাছ থেকে আমাদের সান্ত্বনা পাবার কিছু আছে।
তোমাকে দেখে আমরা জানতে পেরেছি, জুবায়ের ভাই তার আলোটুকু রেখে গেছেন আমাদের মাঝে-----

তোমার লেখার আলোয় ঘুচুক শত দুঃখের আঁধার, জ্বলে উঠুক শাশ্বত সত্যের লাল নীল দীপাবলী----

নিরন্তর শুভকামনা---

সাইফুল আকবর খান এর ছবি

চলুক
চলুক
চলুক

অভিবাদন এই অসম অসাধারণ আলো-টাকে, যার কথা শুনেছি জুবায়ের ভাইয়ের সম্পর্কে প্রত্যেকের বলা প্রতিটি বাক্যে, আর আজ আবার মূর্তিমান দেখতে পেলাম তাঁর রেখে যাওয়া একটা মশালের মাথায়।

আর কিচ্ছুটি বুঝানোর নেই তোমাকে, ডোরা।

ভালো থাকো। আলো থাকো।

আজ অন্য অনেক সচলের মতো আমিও গিয়েছিলাম বনানী'র বাসায় জুবায়ের ভাইয়ের স্মরণায়োজনে। রত্নখচিত পরিবারটির আরো একটি স্বর্ণপালকের সাক্ষাত পেলাম এই ক্ষণে, বিশ বছরের এই বিদূষী'র প্রতিটি কথায়-
ভাগ্যবান এবং গর্বিতই বোধ করছি বরং নিজে।

জানি তুমি তোমরা তুলে রাখবে জুবায়ের ভাইয়ের কর্ম আর মর্মের স্বরূপ, হয়ে থাকবে তাঁরই সেই আলোর থেকে-যাওয়া আরেকটি রূপ।

ভাবী, আপনাকেও অভিবাদন। এবং ধন্যবাদ, এই লেখাটি এখানে শেয়ার করবার জন্য।

___________
স্বাক্ষর?!
মাঝেসাঝে বুঝতে পাই- আমি
নিরক্ষর!

___________
সবকিছু নিয়ে এখন সত্যিই বেশ ত্রিধা'য় আছি

রেনেট এর ছবি

We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
একা একা লাগে

s-s এর ছবি

Your writing inspires.
I am sure you will find a life worth living for, exactly the way your father did.
Obituaries are cliche' and death is a certainty, yet we write and we express sorrow because each and every moment tells us how much worth it really is to be alive.
I wish you find that worth and leave no stones unturned in this mystic journey.
Best - Senjuti

মামুন হক এর ছবি

এই লেখাটি যখন সচলে আসে আমি তখন ইন্টারনেট থেকে অনেক দূরে। কীভাবে এতদিন চোখ এড়িয়ে গেল সেটা ভেবেই অবাক লাগছে।

অসাধারণ লেখা! তোমার প্রতিটি কথা হৃদয় ছুঁয়ে গেল।

নিয়াজ মোর্শেদ চৌধুরী এর ছবি

এত সুন্দর লেখা, এত হৃদয় ছুঁয়ে যাওয়া লেখা! এত শক্তিশালী লেখা!

(তাসনীম ভাই আজ ফেইসবুকে শেয়ার না দিলে হয়তো আমার পড়ার সুযোগই হতো না। ধন্যবাদ তাসনীম ভাই।)

নতুন মন্তব্য করুন

এই ঘরটির বিষয়বস্তু গোপন রাখা হবে এবং জনসমক্ষে প্রকাশ করা হবে না।